Domino makes it easy for multiple people to collaborate on a project, or to share your projects publicly.
There are two central controls that affect who has access to your project: the project's "visibility" settings, and the project's "collaborators".
At times, especially when running Domino on premise, you may want to make your project visible to everyone by default. You can change your project's "default" visibility by going to the project's settings page. There are three different visibility options:
- Anyone can view your files and runs, even if they don't have a Domino account.
- If file exports are enabled, anyone can import your project files.
- Only explicit collaborators can modify files and start runs, or import environment variables (if your project exports environment variables).
- Searchable: Anyone will be able to see this project exists, and see its name and description in search results. But they won't be able to view its contents.
- Private: Only collaborators can view this project or even discover its existence through search results.
If your project is publicly visible, there is an additional option to "allow runs by anonymous users". This will allow users to start runs even if they don't have a Domino account. Runs started by anonymous users will show up as being started by the project owner.
Warning. Allowing anyone to run your code can be dangerous. Be careful granting this level of access, and make sure to think through any information you may be revealing, e.g., environment variables you have set in your project.
To grant other people access to your project, go to the project "Settings" and scroll down to the "Collaborators" section. You can add new collaborators by their username or email address.
The owner of a project can set different access levels for collaborators.
- Contributors can read, write, and start runs
- Results Consumers can only read files.
- Launcher Users can view and run Launchers (and see their results), but they cannot browse files
- Project Importers can import the project, but otherwise cannot access it.
- Only the Owner can archive a project or change its hardware
The collaborators tab lets you specify how each collaborator should be notified when runs complete. This can be a powerful tool to keep your collaborators in sync on the work that each person is doing.