Sharing and collaboration

Domino makes it easy to collaborate on projects, and share project outputs.

There are two controls that affect who has access to your project:

  1. the project's visibility settings
  2. the project's collaborators

Visibility Settings

At times, especially when running Domino on premise, you may want to make your project visible to everyone by default. You can change your project's "default" visibility by going to the project's settings page. There are three different visibility options:

  • Public
    • Anyone can view your files and runs, even if they don't have a Domino account.
    • If file exports are enabled, anyone can import your project files.
    • Only explicit collaborators can modify files and start runs, or import environment variables (if your project exports environment variables).
  • Searchable: Anyone will be able to see this project exists, and see its name and description in search results. However, they won't be able to view the project's contents.
  • Private: Only collaborators can view this project or even discover its existence through search results.

If your project is publicly visible, there is an additional option to "allow runs by anonymous users". This will allow users to start runs even if they don't have a Domino account. Runs started by anonymous users will show up as being started by the project owner.

Warning:
Allowing anyone to run your code can be dangerous. Be careful granting this level of access, and make sure to think through any information you may be revealing, such as environment variables you have set in your project that contain bearer tokens, API keys, or passwords.

Managing collaborators

To grant other people access to a project, you must be a Contributor to the project, or the project Owner. Click Settings from the project menu, then click the Access & Sharing tab and scroll down to the Collaborators and permissions panel. You can add new collaborators by their username or email address. If you supply an email address belonging to a Domino user, that user will be invited to join the project as a collaborator. If you supply an email address that is not associated with an existing Domino user, an email will be sent to that address inviting them to join Domino.

Screen_Shot_2018-09-19_at_11.29.05_AM.png

Access levels

The owner of a project can set different access levels for collaborators from the Collaborators and permissions panel.

  • Contributors can read and write project files, and start runs. On the Settings page, Contributors can read and write project environment variables, and they can invite new collaborators, who will by default be new Contributors. Contributors cannot change hardware tiers, compute environments, or the access levels of collaborators.
  • Results Consumers can only read files and access published apps.
  • Launcher Users can only view and run Launchers, and see the launcher runs results. They cannot view project files.
  • Project Importers can import the project, but otherwise cannot access it.
  • Only the Owner can archive a project, change the owner, change collaborator types, set automatic workspace shutdown times, or change the project default hardware tier or environment.
Permissions Project Importer Launcher User Results Consumer Contributor Owner
Run Launchers   X   X X
Start Runs       X X
Read Only     X X X
Read and Write       X X
Access to Apps     X X X
Archive Project         X
Import Project X     X X
Change Project Name         X
Change Hardware Tier         X
Change Environment         X
Change Owner         X

 

Notifications

The collaborators tab lets you specify how each collaborator should be notified when runs complete. This can be a powerful tool to keep your collaborators in sync on the work that each person is doing.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful